Dominik Zumbühl NZZ Format

/ Research, Info

NZZ reportage: Quantum Computing

The NZZ reportage by SRF on Quantum Computing has come out. The research group led by Dominik Zumbühl is prominently featured in the film.

/ Events, Other

Joint Annual Meeting of SPS and ÖPG in Basel

The joint annual meeting of the Swiss Physical Society (SPS) and Austrian Physical Society (ÖPG) will take place from 4-8 September, 2023 at the "Kollegienhaus" of the Universität Basel.
Aiello Clarice

/ Events, Other

INASCON’s public talk on Quantum Biology

Join INASCON’s public talk on August 23 from 19.30-20.30 in Biozentrum, where Prof. Clarice Aiello will delve into the world of "Quantum Biology" and reveal groundbreaking research on harnessing weak magnetic fields to drive physiological…
Membran Laser

/ Research

A new technique for cooling membranes with lasers

Using a new technique, researchers at the University of Basel have succeeded in cooling a small membrane down to temperatures close to absolute zero using only laser light. Such extremely cooled membranes could, for instance, find…
Bauer Gerhard

/ Research, People

Prof. emer. Dr. Gerhard Baur passed away

In deep mourning we have to say goodbye to Prof. emer. Dr. Gerhard Baur.
News - Icon

/ Research

Scepticism about Microsoft results

In March 2022, Microsoft published research results about the realisation of a special type of particle that might be used to make particularly robust quantum bits. Researchers at the University of Basel are now calling these results about…
Gerber Christoph

/ People, Info

Christoph Gerber to receive the Albert Einstein World Award of Science

Professor Christoph Gerber of the Swiss Nanoscience Institute and the Department of Physics at the University of Basel has been selected as the winner of the Albert Einstein World Award of Science. The World Cultural Council awarded Gerber…
Greljo Admir

/ News, Research, People

New flavour for Basel: Theorist and new Assistant Professor Admir Greljo connects worlds (CHIPP)

Today we would like you to meet one of the University of Basel’s latest additions in the sciences: tenure-track Assistant Professor Admir Greljo. He joined the university’s physics department in spring and has brought lots of plans and…

/ Research

Dr. Urs Gysin passed away

In deep mourning we have to say goodbye to Dr. Urs Gysin.

Seminars & Colloquium